Customer reviews

5 Stars of 5, 4 Reviews.
5 stars: 100%
4 stars: 0%
3 stars: 0%
2 stars: 0%
1 star: 0%
Xtool V-a-g401 Live Data OBD2 OBDII Car Scanner Diagnostic Tool For Vw Audi Seat and Skoda Vehicles - Black

Xtool V-a-g401 Live Data OBD2 OBDII Car Scanner Diagnostic Tool For Vw Audi Seat and Skoda Vehicles - Black

US$48.00
  • Item No. SC44
  • Free Shipping

V-A-G 401 for VW/AUDI/SEAT/SKODA Professional tool is the higher version based on V-A-G5053 with powerful function. V-A-G 401 work on VW,AUDI,SEAT and SKODA. With its smart appearance and powerful function, it can be conveniently used and can be run detachedly without PC. Language: English

Write a review

by B. Francis on Oct 28, 2016
I purchased this specifically to change the rear brakes on a 2010 VW CC. The car has an electronic parking brake and as such the caliper piston needs to be recessed via an electronic signal otherwise you will not get those bad boys off without risking damage to the calipers (which cost ~$600 each). It recessed the caliper pistons just fine. When attempting to extend them though, it took a try or two, but that was due to a learning curve on my end. The 5 star rating heavily takes into consideration the price of this product; I have seen much more expensive devices have very detailed instructions in their menus, but for this price and its performance, it is a winning combination.

Upfront note: If you try to make an account to upgrade the Vag401, you will not be able to get past the "Dealer" loop. It will always return
"Invalid Product". Save yourself the hassle and follow the instructions below.

How to update the software:

1) Plug the included USB cable into the Vag401. Plug the other end into a powered USB receptacle (computer or phone/tablet charger)
2) Scroll down until you see the "About" header on the device, hit enter.
2a) You will see the serial number (also on back of device) and password. Write both of these down as you'll need them for the next step.
2b) Unplug the USB cable from the powered USB receptacle (leave it plugged into the Vag401, you'll need it at a later step)
3) On the bottom (not back) of the Vag401, there will be a sd card. Remove it by pushing in on it slightly and remove the card.
3a) The card will need to be inserted into the USB drive adapter that came with the Vag401. It only goes in one way, so don't force it.
Replied by Apple on Oct 28, 2016
Hello,
Thank you very much.
Hope we can make long trem cooperation.
Please give us more feedback if possible.
Have a nice day.
 
Best Regards,
Diana
by Eric K on Oct 10, 2016
This tool can be your best friend IF you are little more than just being tech savvy, and have some knowledge of binaries and hexadecimals (if you are trying modify the coding of your vehicle).

I could not afford VAG-COM and their million dollar cables, so I decided to purchase this unit and was able to accomplish the following on a 2008 VW Jetta:

1. Clear airbag fault
2. Disable DRL (as the only way to disable DRL properly on a MKV model is by modifying the code)
3. Disable cold lamp checks
4. Remote window roll up/down
5. Glove box aux console enable
6. Fog light coding

It seems that this little machine is capable of doing everything that VCDS has to offer as long as you know what you're doing, but cannot speak on behalf of other functions as I did not try anything besides the mentioned above.

The coding part can be a little bit tricky as this machine only displays the long codes in HEX'es and do not have the nifty helper as in VCDS, but if you know exactly which byte and bits to modify, you can do the calculation yourself and enter the appropriate hexadecimals and it will accomplish what was intended. But you need to understand EXACTLY what you are trying to do with the coding before you jump into the coding with this. I've read testimonials online that few wrong codes can send the ECU to heaven.

Overall, this is a wonderful machine at fraction of the cost of a Ross Tech cable. If you are willing to invest some time in searching which byte of which section enables which function, you should be able to perform exact same modification that you can do with VCDS.

After reading the reviews I did not even bother reading the manual, and honestly was not necessary. That being said, if would have to use a manual for this device, I would suggest you to take the other path and find someone who owns a VCDS that can help you with whatever you are trying to do.
Replied by Apple on Oct 11, 2016
Hello,
Thank you for your message.
Hope we can make long term cooperation and get more feedback from yours.
Have a nice day.
 
Best Regards,
Diana
 
by Eliassen on Sep 19, 2013
is it multi-language tool? does it have French?
Replied by Apple on Sep 22, 2013
Hello Dear Friend,
Thank you for your message.
This device only has English.
Have  a nice day.

Best Regards,
Apple
by Mr.yamme on Nov 9, 2011
hi
would pls tell me this vag401 only can do oil and srs reset?
thanks
Replied by Jocy on Nov 9, 2011
Hello Dear Customer
Very glad to received your question. Hope my answer can help you .This product has many functions,the oil and srs reset only the special function,it also has the controller infmation,fault code,clear code,output test,adapting and so many fucntions.
Total 4 items, 20 items/p, current page 1/1.

Write a Review

Already have an account? Sign in.
Share your thoughts about this item with other users. All reviews will be reviewed within two working days, aggressive reviews and spam will be blocked.
After-sales questions and issues: Contact our Customer Service Department. (A customer representative will get back to you).
Please Sign in first if you want to later edit or manage reviews uploaded by yourself.